Backyard Wonders

DSC_6856.jpg by pgwilliamson

Had a bit of fun with high ISO and overcast skies shooting our local red-bellied woodpecker family. Here the female is seen checking our last-year’s tree. I hope they stay. This is the first time that I have been able to catch them. Not only did I get the female but I got the male as well! Patience IS a virtue.

Settings:

  • ISO 3200
  • Shutter speed: 1/750
  • Aperture: f/5.6

Photo taken using a Nikon D300s & Nikon AF Nikkor 70-300mm at 300mm. Developed & exported to Flickr using Lightroom 3.0

After working awhile this afternoon, I went back out this evening to see if I could see the woodpecker family. The evening was dead quiet. The gray, overcast skies were threatening thunderstorms yet again and the birds were even seeking refuge. A few squirrels were out and about and a stray insect flitted from flower to flower but no woodpeckers. Maybe as the spring advances and the “winter” retreats, I will see more of my new backyard friends and get the chance to capture them without the high ISO!

Leave a Reply

